Helpful Resources


Community




Creditmagic Twitter





Credit on Facebook




Soft Inquiries

Post reply  Start a topic
Author Message
Options
Print this topic
Invite a friend
Email this topic
  Bookmark online
Add to del.icio.us
Add to YahooMyWeb
 
Fasfeed



Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Fasfeed's page
Posts: 85



3295 Magic Points

 
Posted on Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:40 pm  

Your existing creditors that you have open accounts with will pull soft inquiries periodically , in hopes of extending you more credit. Collection agencies will also pull soft inquiries on your credit to aid them in aquiring new information on you that may have been added to your report such as new address , phone numbers ,etc. This help in their collection process. I was told the first thing you should do , when you are trying to repair your credit, is shut down all credit from being able to pull soft inquiries on you. The way to do this is go to optoutprescreen.com.It cuts down on junk mail.
fireyone



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
fireyone's page
Posts: 4285



127 Magic Points

 
Posted on Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:09 pm  

Cool Fasfeed. I never knew that website exsisted. I am going to go and register. Mainly because they continue to send junk mail like preapprovals to my old address and I am afraid someone will send it in for fun and games. I talked to the post office about this several times and every once in a while I get a call from my neighbor saying there was some junk mail in my old rr box. Finally decided not to let it there for anyone elses future use and took down. Apparently taking off my name and address from the box was not enough. Again thanks for the useful info.
desiree15



Joined: 10 Nov 2007
desiree15's page
Posts: 42



943 Magic Points

 
Posted on Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:36 am  

Yeah I didn't either thanks all!!
goodnatured



Joined: 03 Nov 2007
goodnatured's page
Posts: 3927



10 Magic Points

 
Posted on Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:09 pm  

I will go there also, I don't think these inquiries should affect your score, you have NO control over who does this.
_________________
Goodnatured,
http://cashinpocket.synthasite.com/
for all the ways I make $$ online
http://www.crazymonkeygold.com/members/register.php?ref=fedupinpa
fireyone



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
fireyone's page
Posts: 4285



127 Magic Points

 
Posted on Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:21 pm  

I went and visited this site. There is a small fee that has to be paid monthly. I don't think there should be one since your not asking for those soft injuries so it kind of upset me. It is a small price to pay for the protection but I guess I get all bent out of shape when people have a hard time amking it as it is and then has to pay for something else. I mean shouldn't it be like the DO NOT CALL list. They offer sign ups there for no cost. You don't ask telemarketers to call you just like you don't ask these places to prescreen you. To me it is the same thing...all advertising. What does anyone else feel about this?
Morningstar

Morningstar

Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Morningstar's page
Posts: 582



11 Magic Points

 
Posted on Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:02 pm  

Fee?
There is no fee on www.optoutprescreen.com
_________________
I don't dream since I quit sleeping
fireyone



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
fireyone's page
Posts: 4285



127 Magic Points

 
Posted on Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:04 pm  

Maybe I click on a site like it. I will go back and try again through your link. Thanks
goodnatured



Joined: 03 Nov 2007
goodnatured's page
Posts: 3927



10 Magic Points

 
Posted on Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:36 am  

I went there and did it for both me and the hubby, hopefully it will stop some of the crap coming in the mail.
_________________
Goodnatured,
http://cashinpocket.synthasite.com/
for all the ways I make $$ online
http://www.crazymonkeygold.com/members/register.php?ref=fedupinpa
fireyone



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
fireyone's page
Posts: 4285



127 Magic Points

 
Posted on Mon Mar 24, 2008 2:13 am  

I am anxiosly awaiting to see what kind of results this gets. Hopefully it will save me mailbox space..I'll just ahve to find something else to start my fires with.
goodnatured



Joined: 03 Nov 2007
goodnatured's page
Posts: 3927



10 Magic Points

 
Posted on Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:43 am  

I know me too, hopefully it works
_________________
Goodnatured,
http://cashinpocket.synthasite.com/
for all the ways I make $$ online
http://www.crazymonkeygold.com/members/register.php?ref=fedupinpa
fireyone



Joined: 26 Feb 2008
fireyone's page
Posts: 4285



127 Magic Points

 
Posted on Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:16 am  

It should. My spelling really needs some help on that last post.oops.
-1'
Guest






Subject: 1
 
Posted on Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:25 pm  

1

Quick Reply
Your Name
Subject
Message body
 Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 





Page loaded in 0.266 seconds.