Help! Charged off account!!!             Click here to Print

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  :| |:

#norwane02 - Says,

Hello~

I have an account that was charged off a few years ago. I have been making payments on it for the last 2 1/2 years. I was getting statements, so I knew the money I was sending was getting applied to my account. However, they started calling me numerous times a week, even though I was still making payments. I sent letters asking them to stop, but they didn't. So, I contacted the attorney general, then they finally stopped calling. But, they also stopped sending statements, and won't return my calls. Apparently, they have a no contact order for me.

I would like to get this account out of my life! Should I settle it or should I keep making payments, until it is paid off? What is the best way to do that, especially since they won't return my calls?

Thanks!

#erb1953 - Says,

Charged off is charged off and it will never reflect any differently, even when you pay it off, it will say charged off/paid in full, the charged off status will never come off it. You really should pay it, if they offered me a settlement I would pay that and move on with my life, it will stay on your credit for seven years regardless, they won't take the history of the account off of your credit record, and the update will still say charge off but in some type of wording, paid in full will be there or settled what ever you decide to do.
#goodnatured - Says,

Quote:
I would like to get this account out of my life! Should I settle it or should I keep making payments, until it is paid off? What is the best way to do that, especially since they won't return my calls?

Are you sure that this company still even has the account if it is two and half years old, I would think it has moved on to some type of collection agency. What type of account was it? was it a credit card? a checking account?